骑马

马是怎么睡觉的?了解他们的睡眠习惯

马是怎么睡觉的?了解他们的睡眠习惯

马的睡眠模式不同于动物和人类。与人类每天大约需要八个小时的睡眠相比,马的小睡时间更短。这些包括白天躺下的时间和晚上一点深度睡眠。

此外,一匹马的睡眠时间取决于它的年龄。例如,年幼的小马会经常小睡直到三个月。成年马喜欢站立而不是躺下。年长的马在站立时更有可能平躺而不是困倦。

继续阅读以深入了解您的马的睡眠系统。

马是怎么睡觉的?

 

成熟的马可以站着休息,尽管这种姿势会剥夺它们的深度睡眠。因此,马必须放松所有骨骼肌才能达到深度睡眠。当动物用自己的两只脚站立时,不会发生这样的事情。

如果马站着睡觉,后肢生存装置就会被激活。您可能想知道这种机制是什么,以及动物如何以直立的姿势入睡。这一切都始于很久以前,野马成群结队地在广阔的平原上漫游。

作为猎物,马经常成为捕食者寻找丰富、美味肉类的目标。因此,马已经开发出一种所谓的生存装置,使它们能够保持警觉并迅速起床。由于其独特的解剖结构,不同类型的马已经存活了数千年。

该机制由肌腱、韧带和肌肉组成。它们和谐地一起工作,让动物在不崩溃的情况下睡觉。当马的膝盖骨偏移并且后腿锁定在站立位置时,该过程就开始了。一旦关节固定好,马就可以入睡并放松肌肉。

虽然看起来很痛苦,但这不会给马带来问题。此外,该设备仅在一个后端工作,而前腿和第二条腿将保持放松。过了一段时间,马换了腿,完全休息了。对许多人来说,一匹直马似乎是倾斜的。

马只有在深度睡眠时才会平躺。快速眼动睡眠通常在晚上发生几次。更重要的是,只有在舒适、安全的环境下,马才会躺下睡觉。因此,有必要安排一个干燥的避难所(棚子或棚子),让您的马和平地漫游。

睡眠时长

 

健康的小马驹往往睡得更频繁,因为它们醒来时非常活跃。因此,小马驹可以花半天时间来弥补失去的能量。因此,主人应该为他们的小马驹腾出空间来躺下休息一段时间。

至于成年马,它们需要更少的睡眠。他们每天需要两到五个小时才能得到足够的休息。虽然大部分时间它们会处于缓慢的嗜睡状态,但马也会经历快速眼动或快速眼动睡眠。对于这个物种,马必须躺下。

真正的深度睡眠将发生在晚上。马在 24 小时内最少需要 30 分钟,最多需要 3 小时来满足它们的深度睡眠需求。此外,他们必须躺下长达 45 分钟才能一次进入 20 分钟的快速眼动睡眠。

一般来说,睡眠的类型和长度取决于工作量、饮食、温度和性别。此外,马越老,他需要越多的小睡来恢复精神。

睡姿解释

 

马用脚着地睡觉的说法只是谜团的一部分。我们将解释马每天经历的两个睡眠阶段以获得足够的休息。

1.站起来

和人类一样,马也会经历不同的睡眠周期。第一种类型包括小睡,通常被称为慢波睡眠。第二种是 REM 或快速眼动睡眠。此时马可以做梦,需要更长的时间才能醒来。

马站立时发生慢波睡眠。由于上述独特的骨骼系统,马可以保持直立而不会过度劳累肌肉。

2.躺下

站立时任何马都无法实现深度睡眠,因为身体必须保持完全放松。由于这个原因,夹紧装置不能提供足够的松弛,并且只是该过程的一部分。此外,在 REM 睡眠状态下,马会失去对肌肉功能的控制。

此外,马在睡眠中移动和醒来的情况并不少见。大多数马主会同意,马通常在午夜后和完全黑暗的时候睡得最好。

快速眼动睡眠出现在短短 20 分钟内的原因是由于马的解剖结构。由于它的大小,如果马躺下,血流无法到达所有重要器官。因此,一匹健康的马不能平躺超过 45 分钟。你应该起床,伸展一下,然后再睡一觉。

3. 睡眠习惯

在炎热的天气里,马更喜欢躺下来晒太阳。因此,当外面很热时,他们似乎很懒惰。看马在阴凉处经常打盹也不是什么稀罕事。在下雪和刮风的条件下,马躺下的时间更少。

您经常会注意到,当马群休息时,两匹马仍然站立。这种自然行为源于过去。有些马总是必须保持警惕,以保护其他马免受野外掠食者的伤害。

你怎么知道马在睡觉?

 

马在深睡时平躺,所以你不能把它误解为别的东西。如果它的腿开始颤抖,你可能经常意识到你的马在做梦。

相反,发现哪匹马在睡觉可能更困难,但并非不可能。在这种情况下,动物将体重转移到脚和后肢上。另一条腿将休息并保持略微抬高,蹄尖接触地面。

大多数情况下,颈部和头部向下弯曲。耳朵会保持放松。你的马也会闭上眼睛,轻弹或下唇。最后,如果您有动物靠在臀部上的印象,那么它很可能正在睡着。

为什么需要深度睡眠?

 

尽管马在站立时会部分休息,但它们应该躺下以获得足够的异步睡眠。反复的深度睡眠对马的神经系统和学习新事物至关重要。快速眼动睡眠还可以帮助马保持冷静、专注并创造记忆。

强烈的休息会增强马的幸福感并影响其整体表现。因此,适当的护理并确保您的马友获得足够的睡眠至关重要。最重要的是,马主应始终为马匹提供安全的休息环境。

他们还应该检查展位是否太吵、太冷或太热,并消除典型的压力源。马可能睡眠不足的其他原因包括隔离和密闭空间。不熟悉和不安全的区域会妨碍您的马休息。

睡眠不足的后果

睡眠不足会扭曲马的饮食模式、身体形态和整体表现。一匹睡眠不足的马很快就会变得虚弱,目光沉重,无法控制体温。虽然动物可能会比平时吃更多的食物,但它仍然可以减肥。

当马遭受睡眠剥夺时,您可能会在几天后发现负面影响。疲倦的马会变得焦躁不安、易怒和脾气暴躁。更糟糕的是,睡眠不足的马会攻击人类和附近的其他动物并对它们构成危险。

在许多情况下,睡眠障碍的马在大型表演和马术活动中会倒下。突然塌陷也可能是由关节或肌肉问题引起的。马最常见的损伤是骨骼损伤或韧带或肌腱损伤。

最后,没有足够的空间躺下和伸展会阻止马在快速眼动睡眠中入睡。结果,动物会感到非常困倦。睡眠不安的马经常会在晚上醒来并表现出过度的运动。

马严重睡眠不足的另一个案例是嗜睡症。虽然罕见,但这种疾病是无法治愈的,并且会影响中枢神经系统。结果,一匹警觉的马可能会经历突然的睡眠和肌肉张力的丧失。嗜睡是马的另一种严重疾病,涉及过度睡眠。

最后的想法

马有一种独特的站立休息能力。但是,他们也需要躺下才能获得适当的睡眠。马可以在两个不同的位置入睡这一事实让许多人感到困惑。我们希望这篇文章已经揭穿了一些关于马睡眠模式的神话。

你对这门学科有什么了解?看到一匹三肢一腿睡觉的马,你有没有疑惑过?或者您是否很清楚这种行为并且可以在我们的长列表中添加一些细节?请在下面的评论框中分享您的马的休息程序。

发表回复

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Back to top button

horse riding

How do horses sleep? Learn their sleeping habits

How do horses sleep? Learn their sleeping habits

Horses’ sleep patterns differ from those of animals and humans. In contrast to human sleep, which takes about eight hours a day, horses take shorter naps. These include periods of lying down during the day and a little deep sleep at night.

Also, how much a horse sleeps depends on its age. Young ponies, for example, take frequent naps until they reach three months. Adult horses prefer standing rather than lying down. Older horses are more likely to lie flat rather than sleepy while standing.

Keep reading to gain insight into your horse’s sleep system.

How does a horse sleep?

 

Mature horses can rest while standing, although this position deprives them of deep sleep. Thus, the horse must relax all the skeletal muscles to achieve a deep sleep. Nothing like this can happen when an animal stands on its own two feet.

If horses sleep while standing, the hind limb survival device is activated. You may be wondering what this mechanism is and how an animal can fall asleep in an upright position. It all began a long time ago when wild horses roamed the vast plains in herds.

As prey animals, horses have been frequent targets of predators looking for abundant, tasty meat. Thus, horses have developed a so-called survival apparatus, which enables them to remain alert and get up quickly. Thanks to their unique anatomy, different types of horses have survived for thousands of years.

The mechanism consists of tendons, ligaments, and muscles. Working together in harmony, they allow animals to sleep without collapsing. The process begins when the horses’ knee caps are offset and the hind legs are locked in a standing position. Once the joints are secured, the horse can fall asleep and relax its muscles.

Although it may seem painful, this does not cause problems for horses. In addition, the device will work in only one rear end, while the front and second leg will remain relaxed. After some time, the horse changes its legs so that it is completely rested. To many, a straight horse may seem like it’s leaning.

Horses will only lie flat when they are in a deep sleep. REM sleep usually occurs several times at night. What’s more, a horse will only sleep while lying down when it is provided with a comfortable, safe surrounding. Thus, it is necessary to arrange a dry shelter (a booth or a shed) and allow your horse to roam peacefully.

sleep length

 

Healthy foals tend to sleep more frequently because they are very active when they wake up. As a result, foals can spend half the day to make up for lost energy. Hence, owners should make room for their foals to lie down and rest for extended periods.

As for adult horses, they need less sleep. They need two to five hours a day to get enough rest. Although most of this time they will be in a slow drowsiness, horses also experience REM or REM sleep. For this species, the horses must lie down.

Actual deep sleep will occur at night. Horses need a minimum of 30 minutes and a maximum of three hours in 24 hours to meet their deep sleep needs. In addition, they must lie down for up to 45 minutes to fall into REM sleep for 20 minutes at a time.

In general, the type and length of sleep depends on workload, diet, temperature, and gender. In addition, the older a horse is, the more he needs to nap to get refreshed.

Sleeping positions explained

 

The claim that horses sleep with their feet on the ground is only part of the puzzle. We will explain both stages of sleep that horses experience daily to get enough rest.

1. stand up

Like humans, horses go through different sleep cycles. The first type includes naps, often referred to as slow wave sleep. The second type is REM or rapid eye movement sleep. At this point, horses can dream, and it takes longer to wake up.

Slow wave sleep occurs while the horse is standing. Thanks to the unique skeletal system discussed above, horses can hold themselves upright without overworking the muscles.

2. lie down

No horse can achieve deep sleep when standing because the body must remain completely relaxed. For this reason the clamping device cannot provide sufficient relaxation and is only part of the process. Furthermore, in the state of REM sleep, horses lose control of muscle function.

Also, it is not uncommon for horses to move and wake up during sleep. Most owners would agree that horses usually sleep best after midnight and when it gets completely dark.

The reason REM sleep occurs in short 20-minute bursts is due to horse anatomy. As a result of its size, blood flow cannot reach all vital organs if the horse is lying down. Thus, a healthy horse cannot lie flat for more than 45 minutes. You should get up, stretch, and take another round of sleep later.

3. Sleeping habits

In hot weather, horses prefer to lie down and lie in the sun. Therefore, it may seem as if they are lazy when it is hot outside. Watching horses take frequent naps under shaded areas is not a rare sight either. In snowy and windy conditions, horses spend fewer hours lying down.

You can often notice that two horses remain standing while the herd is resting. This natural behavior has roots in the past. Some horses have always had to stay alert to protect others from predators in the wild.

How do you know that the horse sleeps?

 

Horses lie flat when sleeping deeply, so you can’t misinterpret it as something else. You may often realize that your horse is having dreams if its legs begin to tremble.

Conversely, spotting which horse is sleeping can be more difficult but not impossible. In this case, the animal transfers its body weight on both its feet and its hind limb. The other leg will rest and remain slightly elevated with the tip of the hoof touching the ground.

Most often, the neck and head are bent down. The ears will remain relaxed. Your horse will also close his eyes and flick or droop his lower lip. Finally, if you have the impression that the animal is leaning on its hip, it is likely that it is falling asleep.

Why is deep sleep necessary?

 

Although horses rest partially while standing, they should lie down to get enough asynchronous sleep. Repeated bouts of deep sleep are essential to the horse’s nervous system and learning new things. REM sleep also helps horses stay calm, focused and create memories.

Strong rest will enhance the horse’s well-being and affect its overall performance. Hence, proper care and making sure your equine friend gets enough sleep is essential. Above all else, owners should always provide a safe environment for horses to rest.

They should also check if the booth is too noisy, cold or hot and eliminate typical stressors. Other reasons why a horse may not sleep enough include isolation and confined spaces. Unfamiliar and unsafe areas can prevent your horse from resting well.

Consequences of sleep deprivation

Lack of sleep will distort a horse’s eating patterns, physical form, and overall performance. A sleep-deprived horse will soon become weak, heavy-eyed, and unable to control its body temperature. Although the animal may consume more food than usual, it can still lose weight.

When horses suffer from sleep deprivation, you are likely to discover the negative effect after a couple of days. Tired horses will become restless, irritable and ill-tempered. Even worse, a sleep-deprived horse can attack and pose a danger to humans and other nearby animals.

In many cases, horses with sleep disturbances collapsed during major show and equestrian events. Sudden collapses can also be caused by joint or muscle problems. The most common injuries in horses are bone injuries or injury to ligaments or tendons.

Finally, not having enough room to lie down and stretch will prevent the horse from falling asleep in REM sleep. As a result, the animal will feel very sleepy. Horses with disturbed sleep can often wake up at night and exhibit excessive motions.

Another case of severe sleep deficits in horses is narcolepsy. Although rare, the disease is incurable and affects the central nervous system. As a result, an alert horse can experience sudden episodes of sleep and a loss of muscle tone. Hypersomnia is another serious condition in horses and involves excessive sleep.

last thoughts

Horses have a unique ability to rest while standing. However, they also need to lie down to get a proper sleep. The fact that horses can fall asleep in two different positions baffles many people. We hope this article has debunked some myths about horses’ sleep patterns.

What is your knowledge of the subject? Have you ever been puzzled after seeing a horse sleeping with three limbs and one leg? Or are you well aware of this behavior and can add some details to our long list? Please, share your horse’s resting routine in the comment box below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button